Unexpected Endings

This weekend was truly surprising, in so many ways. I attended the Philadelphia Trans Health Conference (more to come on that in a separate post), and honestly, it was one of the best experiences of my life. I met so many fantastic people, made many new very genuine friends, and my life and identity as a trans woman evolved in ways I never expected. I cannot say, for certain, what it will all work out to mean in the long run, but I know I will never forget it. But like I said, more on this later.

Speaking of people and things I will never forget, my Nana, Joyce, my grandmother, passed away suddenly last night. According to the report from the EMTs, she was reported as having collapsed at a local pharmacy, and they worked on her for 30 minutes, plus another 15 at the hospital. Sadly, they weren’t able to get her back.

This is the second person I’ve lost who was very close to me in a month. I’m honestly in a bit of a fog right now, coming down off such a high from this weekend, to such a low late last night and into this morning. I’m doing about as well as could be expected, I suppose, but I’m more than a little confused about things in life right now. One thing remaining so thankfully constant, however, is my faith in G-d, and I feel that some ways, I was being given little things to prepare me for this month (though I suppose that I would also be correct in wondering if something is trying to test my medication doses).

I think more will come on this theme, so check back or subscribe to my new posts, but for now, please keep my Nana in your thoughts.

“In my life, I’ve loved them all…”

About jewess-Q

I'm just a small town girl... err, no, wrong song. I'm a very modern girl... you could even say a new girl. I'm a trans woman living around (and soon, in) NYC who has recently found her way to G-d, and is seeking answers. I am trying to convert to Judaism, and I feel that I am being called to not only be among the Chosen People, but to be one of them. View all posts by jewess-Q

Leave a Reply

